Early July – The Expansion

By July I realized I needed more space. I had already filled the existing planters and the patio area. But the gardening bug had bit hard, clamping down with its bright green jaws. I had to expand. This was first foray into any kind of landscaping, but it was successful. I worked the soil for a week, in the cool nights, after a long commute home from work.

First, I picked a spot in front of the back office


Next, I used a hose to get the shape and started digging (and digging and digging and digging).

Then, when the native soil had been sufficiently churned I mixed it with amendments and added a log border to match the one in my other planter. Don’t mind the terrible state of the grass—that is a future project.

Finally, after a trip to Roger’s Gardens (a huge nursery in Corona Del Mar), I found some amazing shade-tolerant plants and put them in. I also picked up some solar landscape lights from Lowe’s for the final touch.

Here’s the two planters together:

And here are close-ups of the plants and how everything looks at night.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Early July – The Expansion

  1. Jill says:

    Everything looks so amazing, Jeremy! Your hard work has really paid off! My double delight roses are doing wonderfully, fully blooming. I have a pot of miniature yellow roses that is doing well too, today I was trimming it and actually took off a bud. I always can’t stand it when I accidentally take off a future flower!

    Your garden look great! Keep up the great work!

  2. Valerie says:

    This is so amazing! Hope I can see it someday soon. I was telling Graton about this and he said, “Your brother is amazing. Everything he comes in contact with, he beautifies.”

    • jermunns says:

      That’s super nice of Graton to say. I’m still learning a lot tho — notice how I don’t post photos of the plants that I haven’t managed to keep alive 😉 But, it’s been really rewarding all in all.

Leave a comment